Item Successfully Added to Cart
An error was encountered while trying to add the item to the cart. Please try again.
OK
Please make all selections above before adding to cart
OK
Share this page via the icons above, or by copying the link below:
Copy To Clipboard
Successfully Copied!
In the Tradition of Ahlfors and Bers: Proceedings of the First Ahlfors-Bers Colloquium
 
Edited by: Irwin Kra State University of New York at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, NY
Bernard Maskit State University of New York at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, NY
In the Tradition of Ahlfors and Bers
Softcover ISBN:  978-0-8218-1371-3
Product Code:  CONM/256
List Price: $130.00
MAA Member Price: $117.00
AMS Member Price: $104.00
eBook ISBN:  978-0-8218-7846-0
Product Code:  CONM/256.E
List Price: $125.00
MAA Member Price: $112.50
AMS Member Price: $100.00
Softcover ISBN:  978-0-8218-1371-3
eBook: ISBN:  978-0-8218-7846-0
Product Code:  CONM/256.B
List Price: $255.00 $192.50
MAA Member Price: $229.50 $173.25
AMS Member Price: $204.00 $154.00
In the Tradition of Ahlfors and Bers
Click above image for expanded view
In the Tradition of Ahlfors and Bers: Proceedings of the First Ahlfors-Bers Colloquium
Edited by: Irwin Kra State University of New York at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, NY
Bernard Maskit State University of New York at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, NY
Softcover ISBN:  978-0-8218-1371-3
Product Code:  CONM/256
List Price: $130.00
MAA Member Price: $117.00
AMS Member Price: $104.00
eBook ISBN:  978-0-8218-7846-0
Product Code:  CONM/256.E
List Price: $125.00
MAA Member Price: $112.50
AMS Member Price: $100.00
Softcover ISBN:  978-0-8218-1371-3
eBook ISBN:  978-0-8218-7846-0
Product Code:  CONM/256.B
List Price: $255.00 $192.50
MAA Member Price: $229.50 $173.25
AMS Member Price: $204.00 $154.00
  • Book Details
     
     
    Contemporary Mathematics
    Volume: 2562000; 296 pp
    MSC: Primary 30; Secondary 11; 32; 57

    The papers in this collection were presented at the First Ahlfors-Bers Colloquium—a conference held in the tradition of Lars Ahlfors and Lipman Bers. These conferences have been perpetuated to honor and carry on their work in the field of complex analysis, which so influenced their students, colleagues, and a new generation of mathematicians.

    The papers cover complex analysis, Riemann surfaces, Teichmüller theory and hyperbolic manifolds: most of the works include original contributions to the field, and others survey various aspects of the field, including papers by Lennart Carleson, Clifford Earle, and Dennis Hejhal on the contributions of Lars Ahlfors.

    Readership

    Advanced graduate students and researchers working in the broad areas of Riemann surfaces, Teichmüller theory, hyperbolic geometry, and algebraic curves.

  • Table of Contents
     
     
    • Articles
    • Ara Basmajian — Quasiconformal mappings and geodesics in the hyperbolic plane [ MR 1759665 ]
    • Lennart Carleson — Lars Ahlfors and the Painlevé problem [ MR 1759666 ]
    • Clifford J. Earle — The Ahlfors mollifiers [ MR 1759667 ]
    • C. J. Earle, F. P. Gardiner and N. Lakic — Asymptotic Teichmüller space. I. The complex structure [ MR 1759668 ]
    • Clifford J. Earle and Sudeb Mitra — Variation of moduli under holomorphic motions [ MR 1759669 ]
    • Adam Lawrence Epstein — Effectiveness of Teichmüller modular groups [ MR 1759670 ]
    • Hershel M. Farkas and Irwin Kra — Special sets of points on compact Riemann surfaces [ MR 1759671 ]
    • Hershel M. Farkas and Irwin Kra — Three term theta identities [ MR 1759672 ]
    • Daniel M. Gallo — Some remarks on the monodromy map [ MR 1759673 ]
    • Frederick P. Gardiner and Linda Keen — Coverings of Cantor sets [ MR 1759674 ]
    • Frederick P. Gardiner and Nikola Lakic — Local boundary dilatation [ MR 1759675 ]
    • F. W. Gehring and K. Hag — The Apollonian metric and quasiconformal mappings [ MR 1759676 ]
    • Jane Gilman — Complexity of a Turing machine discreteness algorithm [ MR 1759677 ]
    • Dennis A. Hejhal — Kernel functions, Poincaré series, and LVA [ MR 1759678 ]
    • J. Huisman — On components of spaces of ${\rm PSL}_2({\bf C})$-representations of extended quasifuchsian groups [ MR 1759679 ]
    • Troels Jorgensen — Composition and length of hyperbolic motions [ MR 1759680 ]
    • Feng Luo — Automorphisms of Thurston’s space of measured laminations [ MR 1759681 ]
    • Bernard Maskit — On spaces of classical Schottky groups [ MR 1759682 ]
    • Howard A. Masur and Yair N. Minsky — Unstable quasi-geodesics in Teichmüller space [ MR 1759683 ]
    • Katsuhiko Matsuzaki — Convergence of the Hausdorff dimension of the limit sets of Kleinian groups [ MR 1759684 ]
    • Robert Riley — Nielsen’s algorithm to decide whether a group is Fuchsian [ MR 1759685 ]
    • Hiroki Sato — One-parameter families of extreme discrete groups for Jørgensen’s inequality [ MR 1759686 ]
    • Scott A. Wolpert — Automorphic coefficient sums and the quantum ergodicity question [ MR 1759687 ]
  • Requests
     
     
    Review Copy – for publishers of book reviews
    Permission – for use of book, eBook, or Journal content
    Accessibility – to request an alternate format of an AMS title
Volume: 2562000; 296 pp
MSC: Primary 30; Secondary 11; 32; 57

The papers in this collection were presented at the First Ahlfors-Bers Colloquium—a conference held in the tradition of Lars Ahlfors and Lipman Bers. These conferences have been perpetuated to honor and carry on their work in the field of complex analysis, which so influenced their students, colleagues, and a new generation of mathematicians.

The papers cover complex analysis, Riemann surfaces, Teichmüller theory and hyperbolic manifolds: most of the works include original contributions to the field, and others survey various aspects of the field, including papers by Lennart Carleson, Clifford Earle, and Dennis Hejhal on the contributions of Lars Ahlfors.

Readership

Advanced graduate students and researchers working in the broad areas of Riemann surfaces, Teichmüller theory, hyperbolic geometry, and algebraic curves.

  • Articles
  • Ara Basmajian — Quasiconformal mappings and geodesics in the hyperbolic plane [ MR 1759665 ]
  • Lennart Carleson — Lars Ahlfors and the Painlevé problem [ MR 1759666 ]
  • Clifford J. Earle — The Ahlfors mollifiers [ MR 1759667 ]
  • C. J. Earle, F. P. Gardiner and N. Lakic — Asymptotic Teichmüller space. I. The complex structure [ MR 1759668 ]
  • Clifford J. Earle and Sudeb Mitra — Variation of moduli under holomorphic motions [ MR 1759669 ]
  • Adam Lawrence Epstein — Effectiveness of Teichmüller modular groups [ MR 1759670 ]
  • Hershel M. Farkas and Irwin Kra — Special sets of points on compact Riemann surfaces [ MR 1759671 ]
  • Hershel M. Farkas and Irwin Kra — Three term theta identities [ MR 1759672 ]
  • Daniel M. Gallo — Some remarks on the monodromy map [ MR 1759673 ]
  • Frederick P. Gardiner and Linda Keen — Coverings of Cantor sets [ MR 1759674 ]
  • Frederick P. Gardiner and Nikola Lakic — Local boundary dilatation [ MR 1759675 ]
  • F. W. Gehring and K. Hag — The Apollonian metric and quasiconformal mappings [ MR 1759676 ]
  • Jane Gilman — Complexity of a Turing machine discreteness algorithm [ MR 1759677 ]
  • Dennis A. Hejhal — Kernel functions, Poincaré series, and LVA [ MR 1759678 ]
  • J. Huisman — On components of spaces of ${\rm PSL}_2({\bf C})$-representations of extended quasifuchsian groups [ MR 1759679 ]
  • Troels Jorgensen — Composition and length of hyperbolic motions [ MR 1759680 ]
  • Feng Luo — Automorphisms of Thurston’s space of measured laminations [ MR 1759681 ]
  • Bernard Maskit — On spaces of classical Schottky groups [ MR 1759682 ]
  • Howard A. Masur and Yair N. Minsky — Unstable quasi-geodesics in Teichmüller space [ MR 1759683 ]
  • Katsuhiko Matsuzaki — Convergence of the Hausdorff dimension of the limit sets of Kleinian groups [ MR 1759684 ]
  • Robert Riley — Nielsen’s algorithm to decide whether a group is Fuchsian [ MR 1759685 ]
  • Hiroki Sato — One-parameter families of extreme discrete groups for Jørgensen’s inequality [ MR 1759686 ]
  • Scott A. Wolpert — Automorphic coefficient sums and the quantum ergodicity question [ MR 1759687 ]
Review Copy – for publishers of book reviews
Permission – for use of book, eBook, or Journal content
Accessibility – to request an alternate format of an AMS title
You may be interested in...
Please select which format for which you are requesting permissions.