spectral theory, nonlinear wave equations, optimal control, optical waveguide de-
sign, and numerical simulation. In addition to the main lectures, structured dis-
cussion sessions were offered in the afternoons, as well as poster presentations on
Saturday. In addition to Professor Shaw's outline, all abstracts were distributed
to all participants at the beginning of the conference. The following delivered one
or two lectures each: Tuncay Aktosun (Mississippi State University, Mathematics),
Bolindra Borah (North Carolina A&T State University, Mathematics). Sin-Chung
Chang (NASA, Glenn, Engineering), Martin Klaus (Virginia Tech, Mathematics),
Ching Ken Loh (NASA, Taitech, Engineering), Ronald Mickens (Clark Atlanta Uni-
versity, Physics), William H. Prosser (NASA, Langley, Engineering), Jianke Yang
(University of Vermont, Mathematics).
All conference lectures were held in Marteena Hall (home of the Mathematics
and Physics Departments) on the campus of North Carolina A&T State University.
A block of rooms was reserved at the Drury Inn, Greensboro. Scheduled trans-
portation between the hotel and the conference venue was provided. On Wednesday
evening, a reception was hosted by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences,
Dr. Caesar R. Jackson, followed by a dinner hosted by the Vice Chancellor for
Research, Dr. Earnestine Psalmonds.
The local organizing committee consisted of Shea D. Burns, Mingxiang Chen,
Dominic P. Clemence (co-chair), Janis Oldham, and Guoqing Tang (co-chair), all of
NC A&T State University Mathematics Department. The organizers are grateful
for logistical assistance from Ms. Belinda Clemence of the Mathematics and Sci-
ences Learning Resource Center, which hosted the lunches, Ms. Sharon Goins and
Ms. Patricia Shelton of the Mathematics Department, as well as Mathematics and
Physics graduate students Courtney Davis, Mookesh Dhanasar, Michelle Massey,
and Tenesha Young.
We thank the National Science Foundation and the Conference Board of Math-
ematical Sciences for financially supporting the conference. We are also grateful
to both NSF (DPC,GT) and NASA (DPC) for supporting the preparation of this
Dominic P. Clemence
NC A&T State University
Guoqing Tang
NC A&T State University
Previous Page Next Page