The author is indebted to many students and colleagues who have helped to
develop the ideas in these notes over the years. In particular, I owe a special
acknowledgment to Genevieve Raugel who read and constructively criticized
almost all of the original manuscript. Thanks to Ezoura Fonseca, Kate Mac-
Dougall, Jeri Murgo, and the professional staff of the American Mathematical
Society, especially Janet Scappini, for their assistance in the preparation of the
text. Finally, the author gratefully appreciates financial support from the Na-
tional Science Foundation, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, the Army
Research Office, and a Carnegie Fellowship from Heriot-Watt University.
Previous Page Next Page